How can I check out a Learning Object checked out (locked) by another user?

When a Learning Object (LO) is checked out by another user, the icon will be green and display a padlock, you will also see a user icon to the right of the Object. Roll your mouse over the user icon to see who has the Object checked out. You can also click the user's email link to send him or her a quick email regarding the status of their work in the LO, to request access to the LO, to request a change to content within the LO, etc. If the user simply forgot to check in the LO upon completion, you can force a checkout provided that user is no longer logged into Claro. 

To attempt a forced checkout:

  1. Select the Learning Object from the Course panel.
  2. Select the Check Out icon from the Course toolbar.

If the other user has logged out of the system, you will be prompted to either perform a Force Checkout or Cancel.

If the other user is still logged into the system, you will not be able to check out the Learning Object until your teammate has finished.


Related articles:

How do I check in and check out Learning Objects?
How do I work with my team in Claro?

Manage content and courses

  1. How do I browse the list of courses?
  2. How do I change a course status to disabled or offline?
  3. Color names supported by HTML and hexadecimal (hex) values and used by Color Picker
  4. What are the different copy options available in Claro? (for Pages, Learning Objects, and Courses)
  5. What are some examples and advantages of Sharing Learning Objects?
  6. How can I change the course structure?
  7. How do I group elements on the Layers panel?
  8. How can I delete or remove a course?
  9. How can I check out a Learning Object checked out (locked) by another user?
  10. How do I check in and check out Learning Objects?
  11. How do I collapse (close) and expand (open) the entire course tree structure, and increase the width of the left panel?
  12. How do I copy a course?
  13. How do I delete or remove a Learning Object?
  14. How do I delete or remove a page?
  15. How do I delete or remove an element from my page?
  16. How do I display and change Learning Object properties?
  17. How do I display and change page properties?
  18. How do I edit a course in the Browse Courses window?
  19. How do I edit or change an element on my page?
  20. How do I find and replace text on a page or in my whole course?
  21. How do I copy (Share / Duplicate) a Learning Object from another course?
  22. How do I insert a page from another course (Copy From Another Course)?
  23. How do I lock or unlock all layers on a page? How do I show or hide all layers on a page?
  24. How do I view or change course properties?
  25. How do I change a course status from Pending Translation to Active?
  26. How do I create new Project classifications and edit existing Projects?
  27. How do I create new course Categories and edit existing Categories?
  28. How do I create a new Lifecycle and edit, disable and reorder existing Lifecycles?
  29. How can I tell if a Learning Object is shared with another course?
  30. How do I select and deselect multiple elements?
  31. Undo and Redo with history functionality
  32. How do I manage Glossaries?
  33. How do I add metadata to my course?
  34. Why aren't certain modules or learning objects showing up in Course Preview or Published packages?
  35. My Course is Complete in my LMS even though the test was failed - SCORM 2004
  36. How do I identify the Parent course for a Learning Object
  37. How do I change a course’s Lifecycle stage?
  38. How do I lock a course from editing?
  39. How do I unlock a course for editing?
  40. How do I add, remove and edit screen reader text to an element?
  41. How do I make an element focusable for keyboard navigation? How do I turn off focus?
  42. Can I have Claro support requests sent to an alternate email address?

Feedback and Knowledge Base