How do I check in and check out Learning Objects?

One of the keys to collaborative authoring is checking your Learning Objects in and out. This allows different authors to work together, even on the same course at the same time, but prevents authors from over-writing each others' changes.

You may need to periodically refresh the course structure to see objects checked in or out by other authors.

You need to have an object checked out in order to work on pages in the Learning Object. The object icon in the course structure displays a green checkmark when you have it checked out.

When you are done working, check the object in. Enter a brief comment stating the changes you made.

The object icon in the course structure displays an orange bar and large L when the object is checked in.

Once a course is published. E.g, (SCORM, Web etc.) objects display a blue L icon.

If the Learning Object is then checked out again, or if it is checked out while the publishing is being done, the icon becomes or remains orange.

The object is now available for other assigned authors to access.

A lock icon appears on Learning Objects that are checked out by another author.

A lock icon will appear on checked in Learning Objects that are part of a course with a Read-Only status. (Enterprise LCMS only)

If you attempt to check out a locked Learning Object and the other author is not logged in, an alert message displays. You can choose to Force Checkout in order to check out the Learning Object. (Note: If the author is logged in, you will not be able to force checkout.)

To check a Learning Object out:

  1. Click a Learning Object in the Course Structure panel.
  2. Click the Check Out button on the Course toolbar

To check a Learning Object in:

  1. Click a Learning Object in the Course Structure panel.
  2. Click the Check In button on the Course toolbar and add a check in comment.
  3. Click the OK button.

To check in or check out all Learning Objects in a module at once:

  1. Select the Module in the course structure.
  2. Click Check In or Check Out to check in or out the entire module. Only objects you have access to will be affected. If another author has objects checked out in the module, these objects will not be affected by your check in/check out actions.

To refresh the course tree structure:

  1. Click the Refresh button on the Course toolbar.

Related articles:

How can I check out a Learning Object checked out (locked) by another user?
How do I work with my team in Claro?

Manage content and courses

  1. How do I browse the list of courses?
  2. How do I change a course status to disabled or offline?
  3. Color names supported by HTML and hexadecimal (hex) values and used by Color Picker
  4. What are the different copy options available in Claro? (for Pages, Learning Objects, and Courses)
  5. What are some examples and advantages of Sharing Learning Objects?
  6. How can I change the course structure?
  7. How do I group elements on the Layers panel?
  8. How can I delete or remove a course?
  9. How can I check out a Learning Object checked out (locked) by another user?
  10. How do I check in and check out Learning Objects?
  11. How do I collapse (close) and expand (open) the entire course tree structure, and increase the width of the left panel?
  12. How do I copy a course?
  13. How do I delete or remove a Learning Object?
  14. How do I delete or remove a page?
  15. How do I delete or remove an element from my page?
  16. How do I display and change Learning Object properties?
  17. How do I display and change page properties?
  18. How do I edit a course in the Browse Courses window?
  19. How do I edit or change an element on my page?
  20. How do I find and replace text on a page or in my whole course?
  21. How do I copy (Share / Duplicate) a Learning Object from another course?
  22. How do I insert a page from another course (Copy From Another Course)?
  23. How do I lock or unlock all layers on a page? How do I show or hide all layers on a page?
  24. How do I view or change course properties?
  25. How do I change a course status from Pending Translation to Active?
  26. How do I create new Project classifications and edit existing Projects?
  27. How do I create new course Categories and edit existing Categories?
  28. How do I create a new Lifecycle and edit, disable and reorder existing Lifecycles?
  29. How can I tell if a Learning Object is shared with another course?
  30. How do I select and deselect multiple elements?
  31. Undo and Redo with history functionality
  32. How do I manage Glossaries?
  33. How do I add metadata to my course?
  34. Why aren't certain modules or learning objects showing up in Course Preview or Published packages?
  35. My Course is Complete in my LMS even though the test was failed - SCORM 2004
  36. How do I identify the Parent course for a Learning Object
  37. How do I change a course’s Lifecycle stage?
  38. How do I lock a course from editing?
  39. How do I unlock a course for editing?
  40. How do I add, remove and edit screen reader text to an element?
  41. How do I make an element focusable for keyboard navigation? How do I turn off focus?
  42. Can I have Claro support requests sent to an alternate email address?

Feedback and Knowledge Base