What are the different copy options available in Claro? (for Pages, Learning Objects, and Courses)

One of the core features of Claro is the ability to re-use courses and their content intelligently saving you precious time and productivity.

Comparison of Claro's Copy Options for Pages, Learning Objects, and Courses:

Feature Action performed Result
Pages
Duplicate Current PageSelect the Page from the Course panel > Home tab > Copy > Duplicate Current Page. Creates a new copy of the original page or question and places it at the bottom of the LO it was copied from. This new page is NOT shared with the original, meaning any changes made to either one will not affect the other. 

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared.
Copy From Another Course Select the Learning Objects where you want the new page to go > Home tab > Copy > Copy From Another Course > Select the course from which you want to copy a Page > Select the Page > Duplicate Page. Creates a new copy of the original page or question and places it at the bottom of the LO selected in the course you are authoring. This new page is NOT shared with the original, meaning any changes made to either one will not affect the other.

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared.

Duplicated pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Learning Objects
Duplicate Open the course for which you want to add the LO > Home tab > Copy > Copy From Another Course > Select the course from which you want to copy an LO > Select the LO > Copy Learning Object > Duplicate. Creates a new copy of the original Learning Object and all its pages and places it at the bottom of the module selected in the course you are authoring. A Duplicated Learning Object is a new copy of the LO, its content and question pages, meaning any changes made to LO will not affect the other.

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared.

Duplicated pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Share Open the course for which you want to add the LO > Home tab > Copy > Copy From Another Course > Select the course from which you want to copy an LO > Select the LO > Copy Learning Object > Share. Shares the Learning Object and all its pages at the bottom of the module selected in the course you are authoring. A Shared Learning Object is NOT a new copy, meaning any changes made to it, or its content and question pages, will appear in all the courses that share the LO.

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared. LO properties are NOT shared.

Shared pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Courses
Duplicate Browse Course List > Select the course you want to copy > Actions > Duplicate. Creates a new copy of the original course with all of its LOs and pages. The new course is NOT shared with the original, meaning any changes made to either course's LOs or pages will not affect the other.

Note: media assets, resources, references, and glossaries ARE shared.

Duplicated pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Share Browse Course List > Select the course you want to copy > Actions > Share. Sharing a course creates a new copy of the selected course. This new copy now shares the same Learning Objects as the original course. This means if you make a change to a page in one of the shared Learning Objects, the change is reflected in the other course. If you delete a page from a shared Learning Object in one course, it is deleted in the other course. However, if you delete an entire Learning Object from one course, it is NOT deleted in the other course. All media assets, resources, references, and glossaries are also shared.

Note: If you create a new LO in a shared course, it will not appear in the original course.

Shared pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.


Manage content and courses

  1. How do I browse the list of courses?
  2. How do I change a course status to disabled or offline?
  3. Color names supported by HTML and hexadecimal (hex) values and used by Color Picker
  4. What are the different copy options available in Claro? (for Pages, Learning Objects, and Courses)
  5. What are some examples and advantages of Sharing Learning Objects?
  6. How can I change the course structure?
  7. How can I delete or remove a course?
  8. How can I check out a Learning Object checked out (locked) by another user?
  9. How do I check in and check out Learning Objects?
  10. How do I collapse (close) and expand (open) the entire course tree structure, and increase the width of the left panel?
  11. How do I copy a course?
  12. How do I delete or remove a Learning Object?
  13. How do I delete or remove a page?
  14. How do I delete or remove an element from my page?
  15. How do I display and change Learning Object properties?
  16. How do I display and change page properties?
  17. How do I edit a course in the Browse Courses window?
  18. How do I edit or change an element on my page?
  19. How do I find and replace text on a page or in my whole course?
  20. How do I copy (Share / Duplicate) a Learning Object from another course?
  21. How do I insert a page from another course (Copy From Another Course)?
  22. How do I lock or unlock all layers on a page? How do I show or hide all layers on a page?
  23. How do I view or change course properties?
  24. Project, Category, and Type classifications for organization
  25. How can I tell if a Learning Object is shared with another course?
  26. How do I select and deselect multiple elements?
  27. Undo and Redo with history functionality
  28. How do I manage Glossaries?
  29. How do I make a course Locked / Read Only and lock it from editing?
  30. How do I add metadata to my course?
  31. Why aren't certain modules or learning objects showing up in Course Preview or Published packages?
  32. My Course is Complete in my LMS even though the test was failed - SCORM 2004
  33. How do I identify the Parent course for a Learning Object
  34. How do I change a course’s Lifecycle stage?
  35. How do I lock a course from editing?
  36. How do I unlock a course for editing?
  37. How do I create a course Lifecycle

Feedback and Knowledge Base